Adelaide Football Club

adelaide crows

Adelaide FC was formed in 1990 to be the ‘state team’ to represent South Australia in the AFL.
They played their first season in 1991.

They won both the 1997 and 1998 Grand Finals, and have appeared in 15 finals series in their 28-year history.




The Crows

In May 1990 the SANFL clubs unanimously resolved that a team would not be entered into the AFL until season 1993.

The AFL refused to accept this, and revised negotiations with individual clubs Port Adelaide and Norwood.

Two months later, the Port Adelaide Football Club reached terms of agreement with the AFL to enter a team into its competition in season 1991.

The other nine SANFL clubs reacted strongly and entered into litigation in an endeavour to halt Port's bid. As the terms offered were more favourable than previously offered, talks were resumed.

On 19 September 1990, the AFL approved the bid for a new South Australian club to enter to the league, rather than an existing SANFL club.

Playing Uniform

Club Song

We're the pride of South Australia
And we're known as the Adelaide Crows
We're courageous, stronger, faster
And respected by our foes
Admiration of the nation
Our determination shows
We're the pride of South Australia
We're the mighty Adelaide Crows

To the tune of the US Marines' Hymn.

Home Grounds

The club plays home matches at Adelaide Oval.

The club has its training and administration base at Football Park in West Lakes, where it previously played home matches between 1991 and 2013.

years in competition & premierships

Adelaide Football Club years in competition premierships runner-up
1991 – 2019
2 0