Founded in 1864 in Carlton, an inner suburb of Melbourne.

In 1877, Carlton became one of the foundation clubs of the VFA, and was a comfortable winner of the premiership in that competition's inaugural season.

In 1897 the club was one of the VFL's eight founding member clubs.


July 1864


The Blues

Carlton has historically been one of the most successful clubs, having won sixteen senior premierships, equal with Essendon as the most of any club.

The club has a long and successful history, winning the most premierships of any club in the VFL era. In the early days they became particularly strong and had a large supporter base.

Together with fierce rivals Collingwood, Richmond and Essendon, Carlton was considered historically to be one of the league's “Big Four” clubs, and enjoys a healthy rivalry with all three others.


Club Song

We are the navy blues,
We are the old dark navy blues.
We're the team that never lets you down,
We're the only team old Carlton knows.
With all the champions
They like to send up,
To keep our end up.
And they will know that they'll be playing,
Against the famous old dark blues.

Sung to the tune of the chorus of
“Lily of Laguna”.

The club's headquarters and training facilities are located in Carlton at Princes Park, its traditional home ground.

Princes Park

1897 – 2005

It currently plays its home matches at either Docklands (Marvel) Stadium.

Docklands Stadium

2000 – 2019

Or at the MCG.


1897 – 2019

Since winning its last premiership in 1995, Carlton is experiencing its longest ever premiership drought, and has finished bottom of the ladder more times than any club since the competition became known as the AFL.

years in competition & premierships

Carlton Football Club years in competition premierships runner-up
1897 – 2019
16 13