The Fitzroy Football Club was formed at a meeting at the Brunswick Hotel on 26 September 1883 to represent the inner‑Melbourne suburb of Fitzroy.
It was a foundation member club of the VFL in 1897.
The club experienced some early success in the league and was the first club to win a Grand Final in 1898.
26 Sept 1883
The VFA made changes to their rules, allowing Fitzroy to join as the seventh club in 1884, playing in the maroon and blue colours of the local Normanby Junior Football Club.
The club ran into financial difficulties in the 1980s after decades of poor on-field performance and was forced to merge with the Brisbane Bears at the end of the 1996 to form the Brisbane Lions.
Throughout its history Fitzroy has had multiple colours and kits in conjunction with the changing of its nicknames.
We are the boys from old Fitzroy,
We wear the colours maroon and blue,
We will always fight for victory,
And we'll always see it through,
Win or lose, we do or die,
In defeat, we always try,
The club we hold so dear,
Premiers, we'll be this year!
Sung to the tune of
the French national anthem.
Fitzroy resumed its original VFL-AFL identity through its use of their 1975–1996 VFL-AFL jumper, their theme song and their 1884–1966 home ground at the Brunswick Street Oval.
1897 – 1966
For a time during the late 1980s and early 1990s, Lake Oval was their training and administrative base.
1897 – 1981
In 1995 Fitzroy contested an AFL match for premiership points in Canberra against the West Coast Eagles.
The 1916 premiership came in a year when the club also won the wooden spoon. Only four teams contested the premiership that year. Fitzroy finished last at the end of the season but won the final to complete a stunning form reversal.
The club achieved a total of eight premierships between 1898 and 1944.
|Fitzroy Football Club||years in competition|
1883 – 1996