The Bulldogs fought through numerous injuries in 2016 to finish 7th in the home and away season. In a series of against‑the‑odds finals victories, the club scraped through to qualify for the Grand Final for the first time in 55 years.
In doing so, it became the first club to reach the premiership decider from such a low position on the ladder.

They ended a 62-year premiership drought with a 22-point victory over minor premiers the Sydney Swans.





The club adopted its current nickname during the 1928 VFL season after a bulldog ran onto the field and accidentally led the players out against Collingwood at the Whitten Oval.

Home to the club's training facilities and administrative headquarters, the Western Oval, nicknamed "The Kennel", was officially renamed Whitten Oval in 1995 in honour of club legend Ted Whitten. It underwent a A$20 million redevelopment in 2005.

In 1996, the club changed its name from the “Footscray Football Club” to its nickname, the “Western Bulldogs”.

Whitten Oval

1925 – 1997

To coincide with the change, the club moved their home games from the Whitten Oval to Princes Park from 1997 to 1999.

Princes Park

1897 – 2005


Club Song

To the tune of "Sons of the Sea".

Sons of the west,
Red, white and blue,
We come out snarling, Bulldogs through and through.
Bulldogs bite and Bulldogs roar, we give our very best.
But you can't beat the boys of the Bulldog breed,
We're the team of the mighty West!

Before the club changed its name to Western Bulldogs, the club song was called "Sons of the 'Scray", sung to the same tune but with different lyrics.

Docklands Stadium

2000 – 2019

Since 2000, the club has been based at Docklands Stadium.

Eureka Stadium

2017 – 2019

Two home games are played each season at Eureka (Mars) Stadium in Ballarat.

Marrara Oval

2004 – 2019

Looking for new markets, the club had played one game every year at the Sydney Cricket Ground and one "home" game each year at Marrara Oval in Darwin.

Manuka Oval

1998 – 2019

On 16 August 2006, the league announced that the Bulldogs' Sydney "home" game would be played at Manuka Oval, Canberra in 2007, 2008 and 2009.

The club has won two VFL/AFL premierships, in 1954 and 2016, and was runner up in 1961.

years in competition & premierships

Western Bulldogs Football Club years in competition premierships runner-up
1990 – 2019
1 1