the world

United Nations ~ an organisation whose stated purposes are to maintain international peace and security, develop friendly relations among nations, achieve international cooperation, and be a centre for harmonizing the actions of nations.

USA (EDT) New York

USA (PDT) Los Angeles

Asia includes fully recognized states, states with limited but substantial international recognition, de facto states with little or no international recognition, and dependencies of both Asian and non-Asian states.

Africa is the world's second-largest and second-most populous continent, after Asia. Africa is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Isthmus of Suez and the Red Sea to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.

At about 30.3 million sq km including adjacent islands, it covers 20% of Earth's land area.

North America is a continent in the Northern and Western Hemispheres. It is bordered to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean, to the southeast by the Caribbean Sea, and to the west and south by the Pacific Ocean.

North America covers an area of about 24,000 sq km which is 16.5% of the Earth's land area and 4.8% of its total surface area.

The Caribbean is a subregion of central America. It includes the islands of the Caribbean Sea, which borders the North Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of Mexico.

South America is dominated by the Andes mountains in the west; in contrast, the eastern part contains both highland regions and vast lowlands where rivers such as the Amazon, Orinoco and ParanĂ¡ flow.

Europe and its geographic border with Asia does not follow any state boundaries and now only follows a few bodies of water.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is comprised of the island of Great Britain, the north-eastern part of Ireland, and most of the smaller islands within the British Isles.

Oceania is a continent that encompasses the many islands of the Pacific ocean, including Australia, , and .

The island nation of is the only region large enough to be considered a continent.

The Middle East is a geopolitical region encompassing the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Turkey, Egypt, Iran, and Iraq.

The term came into widespread usage as a replacement of the term Near East beginning in the early 20th century.