Asia includes fully recognized states, states with limited but substantial international recognition, de facto states with little or no international recognition, and dependencies of both Asian and non-Asian states.

In particular, it lists 49 generally recognized sovereign states (all of which are members of the United Nations), two states with substantial but not general international recognition (of which one is a UN observer state), four largely unrecognized de facto states, and six dependent and other territories.

In addition, while Egypt extends into Asia through the Sinai Peninsula, it is generally considered to be an African country because most of its population and geographic area is in Africa.